Picture
I used to love running. I ran all through middle school and high school. I ran all through college. After college I started running after kids...I know, not quite the same thing...but running none-the-less.

I've had this dream of running a half marathon forever. I don't know why, it's just been something that I know would be really, really difficult for me to do...but not impossible. Why then am I finding it so hard to motivate myself to get out there and train? I feel guilty going out for a run when I know there are dishes to be done, laundry to fold and work that needs to be done for clients. I find excuses to not train..."It's going to take too long...but then I'll have to shower again...I have so much to do...It's too hot..." I seem to be my own worst enemy. If I don't reach this goal it's going to be my own fault. And that makes me sad. 

While I was looking for an awesome clip art for this post, I came across some photos of other runners; runners who, like myself, made a goal and were working hard and doing their best to reach those goals. This one was my favorite:


Picture
Matt Woodrum, 11 years old. Toledo, Ohio Running with cerebral palsy.
This young man is 11 year old Matt Woodrum. He is from my alma mater, Toledo, Ohio. I found his story in the Toledo Blade. Matt was struggling through his 400 meter race when his gym teacher checked on him. He said, "Matt, you're not going to stop are you?" Matt's reply? "No way!" Immediately dozens of Matt's classmates rushed the track and finished the race with him. This was Matt's forth race of the day...and one many other kids were afraid to try.


I have a cousin with cerebral palsy and I remember growing up with Pam and all of the great times we had. Pammy never took any crap from anyone...and still doesn't! She has had a very difficult life, yet still manages to hold down a job, listen to her favorite music on her iPod, spends time with friends and family...but most of all Pam is happy, truly happy. As a matter of fact, the only time I remember seeing Pam not happy was when my Aunt Laurie told her she couldn't have something or when she was in pain after one of her many surgeries. Pam was always one of my favorite people to hang with at family gatherings when we were little.


It amazes me how children don't see the boundaries and walls in life that adults do. And that, I think, is because in their world boundaries don't exist. They depend on us to set boundaries for them, right? It reminds me of that country song that says something about how a man's son is fishing in a mud puddle but he doesn't have the heart to tell him there are no fish there...he just lets him keep fishing...don't tell him it can't be done! I love that concept. I think more of us adults need to adopt it and incorporate it into our lives.


So enough whining about my training. I am going to print this picture of Matt Woodrum, age 11 from Toledo, Ohio and put in on the mirror in my bathroom...and every morning I'm going to let Matt motivate me to reach my goals. Am I going to stop? No way!


Here is the link to the video of Matt's run: http://youtu.be/hmaDtbQ1nuA
I cried all the way through it.



Leave a Reply.